top of page
  • emersonharrop

Staging of The Establishing Shot

My scene was made using the landscape tool which I used to sculpt the surface to make it look uneven so it looked like a believable desert. The tools which were mostly used were the sculpt, smooth and flatten tool. For the texture, I used a texture which came with a western town pack I got which had texture layers of sand, rock, wet sand and grass. This made it pretty quick and easy to be able to paint the textures on the ground which help me create a pretty realistic looking desert land scape. In the texture was pretty repetitive, but to break up the repetition, I used the sculpt tool to sculpt the landscape to break up the repetitive pattern of the texture.



For the canyons, I used assets I downloaded from Quixel mega scans, I was going to combine them with my data capture assets, but the scans I made didn't really fit with the mega scan assets. The photogrammetry assets however, I decided to use them as rocks (like they were in real life) as they didn't look right as canyon mountains. I placed the rocks on the cliff edge in front of the camera to try and create some visual interest in the foreground with the town in the distance behind them. I found that these assets looked much more natural and realistic when being used like this as they go really well with the sand texture I used for the ground.


This second shot is a close up of the saloon where the animation is set. I built a layout of the town here using the kit from the same western town pack where I got the textures I used for the landscape. This obviously made it a lot easier to model the town and its helped me get a nice look at what the town will look like in the final shot, I haven't built the saloon because I want to model it myself out of my own assets I've made myself. The layout of the town was inspired by the town Armadillo in the Red Dead Redemption games.


I decided to add this second shot of the camera slowly moving forwards to the saloon in the pre viz to see how the establishing shot would look when combined with the second shot of the animation. I feel like it it works well as you get a good sense as to where this town and saloon is located however, I feel the camera timings and transitions need some work.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page