top of page
  • emersonharrop

Camera and Shot Composition

In order to capture the whole the wide view of the landscape, I used a focal length of 24 with the aspect ratio of 16:9 to try and give the shot a cinematic look. I decided to use a tilt shot with the camera tilting downwards revealing the town as it comes into focus. I decided to go with this type of shot because I feel it sets the tone and the mood of the animation as it slowly reveals this plane of desert in the middle of nowhere with this small town located in the middle of it.


For the second shot, I used the same aspect ration as the establishing shot but this time used a focal length of 15 instead of 24. I chose to do this simply so I could capture a good length shot of the town so that both sides of it could be seen. I slightly angled the camera to the right so that the more of the main part of the town could be in shot to try and give the viewer the impression that this is a proper small town and not just a few random buildings in the middle of nowhere. I also used a zoom shot as the camera slowly zooms towards to saloon. I know that the zoom shot is a pretty basic type of shot, but I feel I have used it very effectively, because the camera zooming towards the saloon is telling the viewer that, the next shot and the rest of the animation takes place within this one saloon.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page