top of page

Research and Initial Ideas

Updated: Nov 30, 2021

For my project this year, I want to model a scene of a old western saloon just after a fight had just broken out. The main inspiration of the idea for this scene is from re-playing a lot of Red Dead Redemption 2 recently.


Below is a mood board of the style and tone I might like to go with in my project as well as some camera angles and shots which I will be taking inspiration from.

As seen in the image below, I have come up with some ideas as to what different the story could be as in what cause the fight in the bar or maybe there are multiple different things that caused arguments which lead to a bar fight. How will the video start and how it could end etc.


Here are some concept art work that I have put together to show a rough idea as to try and show what I want to achieve visually with this project:


This image is a quick concept I made by photobashing a couple of images together to get an idea of what my establishing shot could look like. With a shot of a canyon with the town located down in the middle of it in the distance.


Here is another idea for my another shot I could include in my project. A shot of the saloon from the outside. In this shot I've included a sign close to the camera and the canyons in the background to try and give the shot some depth. If this type of shot will be used, it will be after the establishing shot which will help the viewers understand where the town is located and where the saloon is located within the town.


This is another piece of concept I have this is a shot of the poker table which will be the main reason why the fight in the bar had broken out as it will have the most damage done to it compared to the rest of the bar. In this shot, I have place a knife and blood over the cards which is what caused the fight to break out. I also blurred the background outside the windows in order to help give a sense of depth and to keep the viewers eye on the focus of the shot which is the poker table. I've included a smashed bottle on the table to show damage but in the final thing, there will be more damage in the final scene than just one broken bottle.

Here is a rough layout design I have come up with to help me visualise how the saloon will be laid out when modelling. Obviously this most likely will change once i have started to model the saloon. On the right is the potential layout to the ground floor and on the left is the 1st/top floor.


19 views0 comments
bottom of page